R.I.P. John Ashbery

September 3, 2017

It is with great sadness and a real sense of loss that I see reported the death of the wonderful American poet John Ashbery, a true master of language. He was 90 years old.

There is a good selection of his work here.

It is a mystery why he was not awarded the Nobel Prize.

 

Next GWAC Meeting

September 3, 2017

On Tuesday evening, 5th September, the Grandview Woodland Area Council will hold its regular monthly meeting at 7:00pm in the Learning Resource Centre under Britannia Library.

The main speaker this month will be ELIZABETH MURPHY who will be discussing the City’s proposed rezoning of Grandview Woodland “and how it could affect your neighbourhood and your street.”

Ms. Murphy has a long professional background in housing in Vancouver. She was a founder and former City Council candidate for Neighbourhoods for a Sustainable Vancouver (NSV), and has a bully pulpit with regular columns in the Vancouver Sun.  She also knows Grandview well because, although a longtime resident of Point Grey, she owns a number of rental properties in our neighbourhood.

I have worked closely with Ms Murphy over the years, most especially on the Coalition of Vancouver Neighbourhoods. She and I have clashed many times over the details of zoning and what I see as the necessity of more density in GW, but there is no doubt she is an interesting and knowledgeable speaker. I know that both of us agree that towers are neither required nor wanted in this community.

Regretfully, I will have to miss this meeting as I have an operation at St. Paul’s that day; but I believe it will be a very worthwhile evening and I encourage everyone to attend and make the GWAC Board aware of your own views.


Image: Stairway #1

September 3, 2017