A Dog’s Life

To be frank, I have never been a dog person. I don’t mind dogs (in principle) but if I have to be described, I guess I am a cat person.  However, as I have aged (and boy did that take a lot of time), I have come to enjoy the company of certain dogs — three-legged Lucky from Salsbury Park, for example, and our friends’ dog Sadie.

Unfortunately, two of the dogs I have come to know and like, died this week. Both belong to good friends and I fully understand their sorrow at having to end their companions’ lives.

I have had three cats die in my arms (two from the needle, and one who just simply died).  All three were deeply emotional events for me as I had come to know and love and trust each one of them as individuals. I mourn the losses my friends have suffered.

One Response to A Dog’s Life

  1. Luanne says:

    I’m so sorry about your friend’s dogs. It’s so hard to lose a beloved dog or cat.

Leave a Reply

