Robertson the Job Killer

robertsonFor reasons that remain obscure, this morning I found myself reading Mayor Gregor Robertson’s “2016 Year In Review” statement.  After holding my breath as I read his praise of his own government’s performance last year, and then reading it again, I noticed that jobs and employment are completely absent from  the statement other than a throwaway line in the last but one paragraph.

This put me in mind of news I learned the other day from a very senior figure in the BC retail marijuana industry. He told me that more than 200 employees had been laid off recently by dispensaries in Vancouver as they try to cope with the City’s vicious and hypocritical $1,000 a day cash grab from each business.

That’s 200 families without employment, some without hope perhaps, simply so Gregor and his buddies can line the pockets of their cronies with ever more no-competition bids. And we still have two more years of this BS to live through.

Leave a Reply

