Flower Offering

March 1, 2008

Flower Offering

As usual, you can see a better image by clicking the picture.


Unwinding The Thread

March 1, 2008

Memory is
the first traitor

It is such a waste
to undo the syntax,
to untie the tender meanings,
to try to catch the logic
that meant little then
and nothing now;
to wonder what
was meant.
Was there a
design back then,
that leaves no traces?

Memory is
the first traitor


Lucian Freud

March 1, 2008

I recognize I am following the contemporary crowd by accepting Lucian Freud as our greatest living realist (at least). But some things seem so eminently true. I have never been enamoured of the BritArt YBAs such as Damein Hirst and Tracey Emin; they leave me cold. I am far happier with (I admit it) the older generation of Freud and Bacon and Hockney.

Lucian Freud and Francis Bacon are a fascinating pair to me. Bacon is like one too many hits off a Jamaican bong late at night, and Freud is the getting up next morning and eating a hearty breakfast. Bacon was often outrageous, and yet it is Freud who apparently has acknowledged more than 40 illegitimate children.

Anyway, this reverie was sparked by a fascinating review in the New York Review of Books of three recent publications on the artist. It’s a good read.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers