Enoki

enokiThe other day, when I was writing about my joy of cooking chicken curry, I forgot that I had also added enoki mushrooms. It seems odd to me that I hadn’t used these before, but I don’t recall doing so. And to be honest, I’m not exactly sure what caused me to pick up a package ($1 only) while I was wandering around Sunrise Market. But I’m glad I did.

I just chopped off the root and pulled the stems apart so far as I could. I stirred them through the sauce just for the last few minutes, and they were great. Everything I recalled about enoki had them pegged as fragile, but I thought they handled well and were mighty toothsome when cooked. They could work as an attractive substitute for noodles or pasta in any decent white sauce, I think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 947 other followers

